Understanding Nevada Auto Insurance Rules

Whether you have just been the victim of an automobile accident or you want to prepare yourself for such an event, it is useful to understand driver liability and how it may apply to your situation.

Liability in Nevada

Nevada is known as a “fault” state for car accident liability, which means that the driver who caused the accident is financially responsible for all injuries, vehicle damage, and any other losses. This means that when you are seeking compensation for an accident that was not your fault, you can:

  • File a claim under your own insurance coverage
  • File a “third party claim” with the other driver’s car insurance company
  • File a personal injury lawsuit for compensation from the at-fault driver

(If you are unsure which driver is liable and require further clarification or representation, we invite you to contact our friendly team of professionals at David Boehrer Law at (702) 602-6851 to arrange a free case evaluation.)

Nevada Insurance requirements

Automobile owners in Nevada are required to have auto insurance that provides at least $15,000 for injuries in a one person accident, $30,000 where more than one person is injured, and $10,000 per accident for property damage. People found driving without insurance may have their driver’s license or registration suspended, and incur a state charge of $250 for the suspension to be lifted.

When purchasing insurance you may wish to consider obtaining “comprehensive” or “collision” coverage to guarantee that your vehicle is repaired, as the $10,000 property damage amount is only allocated towards damage that you caused. You may also want to purchase uninsured motorist insurance and underinsured motorist coverage as it can protect you from added expenses associated with drivers that either don’t have car insurance or their policy won’t fully cover your losses.

Personal Injury

If you have been injured in an automobile accident you must ensure that you get proper medical care right away – for both your recovery and to legitimize any later claim. If there are delays, it will be difficult to prove that your injuries resulted from the auto accident. As Nevada is a “fault” state, your compensation for medical care will depend on the coverages in your policy. If you were not at fault then your bills will be paid for by the other driver’s liability coverage. Be sure to also check your uninsured motorist coverage, your health insurance policy and any other insurance coverage that you have that might cover your medical care.

Being involved in a car accident is always a difficult and stressful time, whether or not it was your fault, and the personal injury attorneys at the David Boehrer Law Firm have had years of experience in litigating this field of law. We are here to help if you require any further information or if you simply wish to find out about the compensation to which you may be entitled.

We invite you to call us today at (702) 750-0750 to arrange a free case evaluation.